Hey everyone.
I have another… Update. And this is definitely going to be one of the more weird ones.
Ever since the trip I made to my old high school, I have been having some… Moments. Strange moments.
I feel like too much is my past is still missing. I have a sense there are still so many pieces of my memories that haven’t quite come back to me yet. And no matter how hard I try, I can’t quite seem to actually remember them, I just have the sense in the back of my head that they’re there, waiting to be rediscovered.
I haven’t had an opportunity to talk to Castella again yet. Actually, I haven’t even seen her at all for a few weeks now. I even went back to the cafe she works at a few times, hoping to catch her there.
Then, when I asked about her, the owner of the cafe told me she had quit a while ago.
It felt like the only lead I had on any of this stuff was the gameboy. So that was what I was doing for a while, spending a lot of my spare time trying to see if I could discover anything useful.
I managed to get through a few more levels, but besides that, I didn’t have much success.
That is, until about a week ago.
So I started noticing a few particularly persistent symbols reappearing while I was playing. There were also a few other things that seemed a little more out of place than usual about the levels I was trying to beat.
I still didn’t think too much of it though, until I had another visit from the pixellated alien guy. He had another message for me:
You cannot deny the bonds of a billion generations
Forever insouled, never denied, millions everlasting together, hiding, ever remembered, Emalyn
Lost in the emptiness of the unfathomable gates of possibility.
This immediately struck me as something I needed to look into a little more, so I wrote the messages down on a piece of paper, and took a photo of the screen on my phone.
It took me a bit to figure it out, and even when I did, it still seemed almost a little too hard to believe.
What I first noticed was Emalyn. It sounded familiar, and I knew it had to be a name for something, because a capital letter had been used.
I looked it up; I found out it was a Latin girl’s name – which, of course, wasn’t too helpful.
I did a little more searching around on the web, and then, almost accidentally, I figured it out.
Emalyn is one of the old Latin names for the town I live in. That’s why it sounded so familiar to me. I had to have heard it before somewhere.
So I read over the message a few more times.
This next part is even weirder. The first letters of every word spell out ‘Find me there.’
Now that couldn’t have been a coincidence. Not with everything else I’ve seen, not when the last word is also one of the names for this town. It couldn’t be, right?
I was a lot more careful after that to look around for any other important things I might have missed while playing.
The next part took me a lot longer. I started thinking about what it meant, find me there, and then going through some of the levels again more carefully.
I checked the other messages the pixellated alien gave and looked them over a few times, but none of them seemed particularly helpful.
I spent more than a few hours doing all this. Nearly every weekend, I would put aside at least part of one day to try and learn something from this gameboy. I also spent a whole lot my spare time thinking through this stuff.
I wasn’t sure exactly what I was looking for, but I sort of followed my instincts, and, well, it worked out. I discovered something.
Here’s where things get more complicated. I was thinking about puzzles, so I started to look at all of the different symbols, trying to see if any of them meant anything.
A lot of them didn’t – except for some of them appearing all over my town and beyond, in the cornfields. Then I started comparing together all the locations of the different symbols that appeared in the gameboy and also in the cornfields, from what I could see in the satellite photos.
After a bit of work, I figured out they kind of formed a pentagram.
I then became pretty much obsessed with trying to understand what this meant, if there was any real meaning to it. The most obvious thing was to look for something in the centre of the the pentagram shape formed from all the symbols, but there wasn’t anything there. I checked.
It took a lot more clue – finding to get to the next part. More than once, I felt like I was wasting my time. But I kept going anyway. I felt like I had to. After… What happened at my old school.
After a while, I started looking at it mathematically. Probably something to do with how much time I have been studying maths problems for high school recently.
When I measured the components of the pentagram, I noticed two sides of it were a little bit longer than the other three.
So there’s this thing called the golden ratio. It’s a group of numbers that follow a particular set of rules, but it would be a little too complicated to explain without a whole post on it’s own.
When I put together the two sides of the longer parts of the pentagram, they both fulfilled all the requirements for a golden ratio.
These two golden ratios are a set of numbers. But I was still convinced my experimenting wasn’t really getting me anywhere.
Then I tried giving both numbers the direction the two parts of the pentagram were pointing at.
Which makes a set of co ordinates. It was so far fetched I didn’t think they would lead to anything.
But they did. And it is right in the middle of my town!
I haven’t actually gone to them yet. So I still don’t have any idea what to expect. But I’m already planning a trip there to see what I can find.
Also, this isn’t totally related, but something else came did actually back to me about my old relationship with Castella while I was working all this out, and I don’t think that the events of my newest recollection happened too long after the whole flashback thing I had earlier.
We were in class together again. Castella told me she wanted to show me something. Whatever exactly it was I saw, it must have caught my attention.
I think it was… Some kind of mirror. But it wasn’t a normal mirror. There was something special about it, I think, even a little bit exiting.
She said no one else could know about it, that this was a secret we had to keep just between us.
‘You’re the only person I’ve shown this to,’ she admitted to me, giving me a shy smile. ‘I wasn’t supposed to ever reveal this to anyone else.’
I was still staring down at it in fascination.
For some reason it almost – looked familiar.
‘Where did it come from?’ I asked her.
She hesitated. After a long moment, she answered simply, ‘somewhere else. It’s complicated.’
Whatever happened after, that’s still a blur to me. I’ve been trying constantly to get more back from all those years, but nothing I’ve tried helps. I wasn’t even really thinking about the primary school or castella when this came back to me.
It doesn’t explain much. I know. But at least it’s something. A sign I might start remembering other stuff soon, maybe.
I guess I will just have to wait and see. In the meantime, I’m going to go investigate the co -ordinates I discovered, and see where they lead to. I’m still not entirely sure it really means anything, but somehow I doubt this can come to another dead end.
However, what exactly I’m going to find when I get there, I’m still stuck on that one.
What kind of person created this gameboy, and why did they go to such an effort to hide such a complex message inside it?
What was it even made for?

Leave a comment